European Commission

This photo is from the organization's website.

Single Market Compliance Space

Notification is an act whereby a Member State informs the Commission and the other Member States that a body, which fulfils the relevant requirements, has been designated to carry out conformity assessment according to a directive. Notification of Notified Bodies and their withdrawal are the responsibility of the notifying Member State.

The Member States, EFTA countries (EEA members) and other countries with which the EU has concluded Mutual recognition agreements (MRAs) and Protocols to the Europe Agreements on Conformity Assessment and Acceptance of Industrial Products (PECAs) have designated Notified Bodies, established per directive. Lists of Notified Bodies can be searched on the NANDO web site. The lists include the identification number of each notified body as well as the tasks for which it has been notified, and are subject to regular update.

Standardisation may have one or more specific aims, to make a product, process or service fit for its purpose (the ability to perform an assigned task under certain conditions). Such aims could be, for example,

  • compatibility – suitability of products, processes or services to be used together to fulfil the established requirements. Possibility to integrate a product into the system;
  • interchangeability – ability of one product, process or service to be used in place of another to fulfil the same requirements;
  • variety control – selection of the optimum number of sizes or types of products, processes or services to meet prevailing needs;
  • safety – achieving the optimal balance of factors that will eliminate avoidable risks to an acceptable degree;
  • protection of the environment – preservation of the environment from unacceptable damage from the effects and operations of products, processes and services;
  • product protection – protection of a product against climatic or other adverse conditions during its use, transport or storage.

The aims of standardisation may partially overlap.

Six standardisation principles:
  • involment of as many interested parties as possible,
  • openness for participation of the standardisation process,
  • transparency in each standard drafting stage,
  • consensus between the interested parties in regards to the standard contents,
  • timeliness and relevance of the content,
  • availability of the standard.

European Commission


Activities in which the organization is active and/or adds value


Feedback form

What do you think about our site?

Please fill in as complete as possible

Very bad Very good